The one where I discover Village Voice

A gorgeous article from Elephant, one of my favorite websites and my first read of The Village Voice!

“8 Quotes for Wild Ones Lost in the Unknown.”

My favorite quote :

“I exist as I am, that is enough,
If no other in the world be aware I sit content,
And if each and all be aware I sit content.
One world is aware, and by the far the largest to me, and that is myself,
And whether I come to my own today or in ten thousand or ten million years,
I can cheerfully take it now, or with equal cheerfulness, I can wait.”

~ Walt Whitman

My word of this year is most definitely ‘Patience’, and this quote is going to be a great one for me to live by.

Walt Whitman was a great poet, and thought to be master of the ‘Free Verse’. He alludes to having some confusion in his life, and I am sure, much like most creative types, had some inner turmoil. It is always reassuring to know that someone who can influence the world of writing managed to come to such a conclusion of peace. ((At least for long enough to word this beautiful quote))

This ties in nicely with an idea for a post I had today whilst bathing in the glorious sunshine in Williamsburg this very afternoon.

I picked up The Village Voice (my first read of this publication, and what a bloody brilliant free resource for NYC – I know, I know Duhhhhhh) and on the first few pages were poems either about NYC in the spring or ‘whatever the poet decided’. Apparently April is Poetry month! How apt for a month where the wind can change at any given moment.

I also discovered that on Sunday the Downtown Literary Festival is taking place at various locations on the south of Manhattan. So I will be going along to that to check out some readings and rubbing shoulders with fellow literary larks.

Until next time peeps..

Peace and patience to all xoxox

Author: sunsetsoulsister

I sing I write Yogi Hire me!

Leave a Reply

