My First Guitar Lesson

Last Tuesday I had my first guitar lesson with New York Guitar Academy, and loved it!

Those of you who know me, will know that over the years I have expressed my disdain for guitars and guitarists alike many many times. In my defense, being a singer in bands, and college and in general muso circles, guitarists can be egotistical noodling annoyances (not all, I can think of 5 guitarists off the top of my head right now, that I consider friends and I absolutely adore – both their guitar playing and their general loveliness). So, while learning the guitar I definitely have a new found respect for the kind of graft that it must take to be able to play a full song, let alone be a whizz at it! Ha-ha.

Anyway, grovelling aside, in my first lesson I learnt how to warm my fingers up, the Smoke on the Water riff and Bob Marley’s 3 Little Birds.  I say we learnt, we set up for a week of practicing these things ready for our next lesson. Needless to say, I have been practicing as much as possible and I can already feel my fingers hardening up, and I am memorizing positions etc etc. Basically I am loving it, and also acknowledging that there is a lesson in there somewhere… Something about walking in someone else’s shoes… I don’t know I forget the rest teehee.

I close with a projection of a cheesy dream I have (and a picture to solidify the mental image). I would love to be able to play and sing on a beach somewhere, and have group of people all being hippies with me singing along to whatever we can figure out on this gorgeous instrument.

alex guitar

Author: sunsetsoulsister

I sing I write Yogi Hire me!

Leave a Reply

