Neighbors – movie rundown

 

neighbors (1)I recently visited Williamsburg movie theatre to watch the film Neighbors starring Zac Efron, Seth Rogen, Dave Franco and Rose Byrne.

I had high (ish) hopes for this movie, just like I do with all of Rogen’s creations. I was aware that Zac Efron was also starring so I wasn’t overly optimistic about this being in the same league as Pineapple Express of Superbad. But, I remember feeling the same way about 21 Jump street and I absolutely love that movie and Channing Tatum, although unexpected, does a great comedic job in that film so I thought maybe Efron could maybe pull some similar skills out of the bag.

I am going to keep this short and sweet.

I found the film to have some really funny parts, and Dave Franco is hilarious but Zac Efron is just not cool. I get why he is in the movie, but it didn’t feel like he wanted to shake off his cool hot guy image enough to get funny and loose if you know what I mean. BUT he is hot and I did really enjoy seeing him without his top on, so all was not lost haha (Yes I know, Im a perv…get over it haha)

Seth Rogen felt a bit watered down, and his annoying pseudo Australian wife was even more annoying then when she was in ‘Get him to the Greek’. The baby was beyond cute though, and arguably stole the movie!

The script was good, the cinematography was great, and there were some great physical comedy moments in there too. Not to mention some really heartwarming moments between the brand new family trying to find their way.

So all in all, it was worth a watch but I probably won’t add it to my movie playlist.

Author: sunsetsoulsister

I sing I write Yogi Hire me!

Leave a Reply

