So I got a bit philosophical on Friday and this is what happened…

As I sit here in McCarren Park I can’t help but ponder life.

I am struggling with balancing ambition and my incessant need for new experiences with being in the here and now and present in the moment.

For instance today, it is a beautiful day and my plan was to go to yoga, then grocery shopping and then start some new work that a friend has introduced me to. So I walk the 30 minute walk to my new yoga studio (loom in Bushwick – review and yoga journal up soon!) and get there a bit early. For most people I would imagine that this is their ideal. For me being early always can put whatever I am early for in the ‘optional’ box in my head. Especially if the sun is shining and its mid September. Yoga is something I enjoy immensely, and at the moment it is important that I go as much as possible – My back is out of wack from a summer of dancing and adventures.

All this being said, and knowing how important it is long term for me to go, why did I not go? Why did I choose to sit in the sunshine for a few hours instead?

This is a consistent theme of my life and as I am reaching mid 20s (yes Tony, REACHING MID 20S. I am NOT nearly 30) I am trying to figure out where my priorities are at these days. I thought Yoga was a big priority, but it turns out that even that is subject to change depending on the weather?

I think it is because I am British, and when the sun is out in Brighton, UK you would think it is city of The Unemployed! Everyone flocks to the beach and the drinks flow until way past sunset – Mid week!

So anyway, back to how my day has rolled out (It is still only 1.30pm – My NYC Brain is in full effect, clearly). I’m in McCarren Park with the idea that I am going to go and be all Yogi in the Park and concentrate on being in the here and now, and all I have done is thought about things I would like to do in the future or aims I have for my time over here.

This is all very in line with my Piscean profile, I spend a lot of time in my own head idealizing life and pondering how great XYZ would be blah blah. So it is all positive thoughts and ideas and planning etc but how do I achieve any of these things if when it gets to it, the sun is out or my fickle fish self flows on by whatever I had planned.

Am I really doing things I want to do, or are they just things I have convinced myself that I want to do over my 24years?! OR Do I just have no discipline and follow through? OR am I ruled by my own expectations? I think that might be it.

The book I am reading at the moment is called The Power of Now and it’s by Eckhart Tole. I am so trying to practice with the thoughts in this book, and also building on the Tao of Pooh that I listened to as an audiobook sometime last year.

I suppose this is more of a shout out to anyone feeling philosophical at this changeover of season time for any advice.

Any ideas on how to get shit done whilst in keeping with being happy and present just the way everything is in the now?

My first idea would be to get a solid meditation routine in, but what if I do not feel like it one morning? Do I force it because I know it is good for me long-term OR go with my flow of that moment?

blahblhabdbbduaekdjsufcsnvjsnvkjsbcbsblah

Peace peepsx20140907_125749_Adrian_Burn

Author: sunsetsoulsister

I sing I write Yogi Hire me!

3 thoughts on “So I got a bit philosophical on Friday and this is what happened…”

  1. I force it. Whenever I don’t feel like doing something that I know is in line with my goals or path to what generally leads to me happiness (short term or long term, fun or not fun) I push through that ‘maybe not today’ feeling that I have, and 9 times out of 10 I feel great and carry on with whatever I wanted to do instead. But hey, that’s just me. I’m a Taurus so we’re pretty close to being opposite 🙂

  2. We’re all tempted to make the most of September sunny days as they are likely to be the last sunny days of the year with any warmth in them.

    As someone who is, unfortunately, not mid 40’s any more, but nearly 50 I know that you will have many sunny days in the future to enjoy. What you don’t want is to feel as though you’ve wasted you time in NYC when it comes to an end by sitting in the sun pondering life (which you could have done in Brighton), instead of living it.

    Take the huge opportunity that you have and run with it. Fill every day with experiences that you will remember forever – even if it’s grocery shopping.You never know what opportunities might be around the corner that you daren’t even dream of.

Leave a Reply

